Sunday, March 30, 2008

Montville 28-31st March 2008

Hi,

What a weekend!

On Friday we headed up to Montville (forgetting my delicious wine, mind you) to spend a weekend in a cottage in an advocado garden. It was beautiful.

On the Friday, the first thing we did, was go to a winery and buy some wine for me to sip (I think I had 3 glasses over the whole weekend - I dont think we finished a bottle between us, but hey, we're just not big drinkers). We took our wine to the cottage and just chilled out on the nice-but-not-as-nice-as-ours couch. We ended up at the lovely place called Zana's for dinner (yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum). Seriously, if you're ever in Montville, go to Zana's.

On the Saturday, we got out of bed at about 10, and managed to get out of the cottage and head into Montville by about 12. We bought some candles for Earth Hour, some spicey chocolate liqueur called "Dragons crap" (great if you LOVE chili). We had lunch overlooking the view to the ocean. We spent a few hours looking at the shops, ending up with a collection of tea, lollipops and fudge. We then went back to the cottage with stuff from IGA to make our dinner.

When we got back to the room, I was on the couch, wearing my peasents dress, sucking on a sour apple lollipop when Rhys disappeared to out of site. When he came back into the lounge room, he stood infront of me, reached into his back pocket, kneeled down on one knee (at which point I think I either protested or made some sound resembling no, I think I said "...But I'm sucking on a lollipop" - I'll ask Rhys) and then he said "Victoria Louise Denny will you marry me..." and I said "yes" and got mascara all over his face.

I have a temporary ring I've called Jr. I get the real thing on June 27th (our 3 year anniversary).

We had vegetarian sandwiches for dinner and participated in Earth Hour.

On the Sunday we went down to the Lake and had sandwiches, fruit and fudge, while naming the different birds after the first country/state/city that came to mind when we saw it. There was a bush turkey I named Germany, a little birdy I called Belgium and a duck called Kentucky.

We went for a random drive, that led us to a random park, where we decided to go on an impromptu 1.2 km walk through rainforest.

After the physical torture, we figured it was about time we call our parents and some of our friends to let them know about the engagement. My next blog: the phone call with mum.

Wednesday, March 26, 2008

I'm going away for the weekend

Hey!

I'm going up to Montville this weekend, for a romantic getaway with Rhys. I think I may have mentioned it, but I just started packing this morning and I am really excited. Three days of just hanging out with Rhys, wearing summer dresses and sipping red wine from 10am til bed.

Might go to Lush in the city, http://www.lush.com.au/catalog/home.php, I love this place ever since Rhys' cousin Sarah bought me two bath bombs for christmas 06. They are the best. (Thanx Sarah!)

We have a bottle of red from a place up the coast that uses no perservatives. I'll dig up the brand and post it - I tastes great and wine usually gives me a headache, but this stuff - yum.

I'm getting my eyes done down stairs at Brazilian Beauty (a package that focuses on the eyebrows and eyelashes) so I feel pretty and less like the blob that has a moontan.

I'm feeling so relaxed already.

I cannot wait for this weekend.

Monday, March 24, 2008

What I am doing right now

Hello you!

I'm at my laptop, about to hit my head against something really, really hard, because I cannot find anything relavent for the changes our delightful (she really is delightful) supervisor wants us to make. Changes to our Ludwig's Angina assignment to include more about dysphagia.

Nobody in the medical world gives a hooey about dysphagia, hell I did a biomedical degree and swallowing didnt come up once, the larynx wasnt mentioned in anatomy. We rank so low, it's funny.

And time spent drudging through literature feels like time lost.

But my whiteboard says today is Ludwig's and clinic day.

I finished week one of my clinic group, I'm very proud of my activities. I hope my Clinical Educator likes it. I'll be so crushed if she doesnt, I put a lot of work into that thing.

What else am I doing? Eating two minute noodles with hot nandos sauce and watching interview with the vampire (loves it).

Better get back to drudging.

Friday, March 21, 2008

Holidays

I am so happy that this week off has come early. I've got a little timetable happening to get all of my stuff done so I can spend a romantic weekend away next weekend in Montville with Ri.

Life is just, so, you know, draining that we both need a break.

Granted i am on the internet blogging and he is on the Wii playing Zelda.

This semester has done nothing to increase my desire to want to be a speechie. The subjects, whilst interesting are just not making me think *hmmm, now I cant wait to get home and read more about that*

I cant get over it almost being April.

We start running our clinic groups on in April for FCD and stopping. I'm a bit disappointed we didnt get a language group too.

I better go do something productive.... maybe make a sandwich.

Monday, March 17, 2008

skipping class

Ok so I am skipping class at the moment.

Only because the lecturer explained to us in this class yesterday that:

"when you collect a large enough sample and do testing, the results come out in a bell shape curve..."

shock

horror


when did I go back in time to 2000? Grade 10? and why does GLC look like my uni?

I think you get the point.

The content of the subject is interesting... they are just taking us way to far back to basics.

So here I am, avoiding getting my stuff organised. Using the pain in my back and ankles as a pathetic excuse not to get up and do what must be done.

Better go,

Vix

Sunday, March 16, 2008

Continuing reflections

Sem 2 2007

I had this one amazing client last year that I have to mention. I can’t say much about how they ended up in a Voice clinic despite having a language disorder, but I was glad I had the chance to work with this individual. They had a pragmatics (social use of language) disorder. Having a conversation with them was like trying to talk to a shy stone hiding in a cave... In the first session I set aside 20 minutes of conversational assessment *us talking*, and by the end of it I was fidgeting and almost willing to give out my PIN if that would have her participate. In the last session, we had a 20 m conversation after I set aside only 10 minutes for a reassessment. All I did was went through how to have a conversation, step by step, every week. We even watch bits of Sweet Home Alabama. The part where he proposed in Tiffany’s just for funsies. Other bits to analyse conversations. I enjoyed that clinic placement, I felt like I had a lot of input into the directions I went with my clients.

Thursday, March 13, 2008

Tomorrow

Great. Its 1am, I have to be in the clinic in less than 8 hours, but I cannot sleep.
I'm overwhelmed by a restless sense of stress. I just want a good nights sleep.
Tomorrow, or more accurately today is our screening day in the clinic. 3-4 clients, 30 minutes each. We need to do:
- one brief intro/case history
- artic survey
- RAPT
- on spot 'diagnosis'
- send the child home with homework.

Panic Much?
Is it possible? Yes. Will it be done right? We have a trained speechy watching our every move, we couldnt screw up if we wanted to. Yet still I lie in bed, restlest. I just really need a mini break.

I was so cool and calm this arvo, but then BOOM, clinic just dawned on me when I was printing my clinical contract.

I had such a good time at my last placement.

Why am I so restless??!

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

The reason why I'm blogging in the first place

So I noticed that in my portfolio there is a section in the back that says "Reflections"
Now while I have been doing heaps of reflecting, its just not getting written done. So here are a couple of my experiences, with confidentiality in tact.

Semester One, 2007:

My first client, a little boy with phonological problems. My first crushing experience with homework being set and not done, resources been made and given to the client just to have them disappear, and the most crushing: having the client not show up for 3 sessions. 2 without prior warning. I reflect on this and now know of the importance of education of the parents. Explaining explicitly WHY I am 'playing games' with their child.

My partner had this amazing little boy who drew a picture of a dinosaur, then explained to me, that from this picture we would use it as a guide to help us build it with blocks. This child was 3. I'll always remember that.

Monday, March 10, 2008

It must be recess

School Kids. They're always on campus, I was at the bakery, when one of the kiddies (I'm talking highschool kids) looked at the line that had surged since about, oh 10 to the hour, and said "Oh it must be recess"

I'm way too tired to write anymore than that. Funny School Kids!

Saturday, March 8, 2008

Procrastination

I'm going to regret using that title so soon. I was, I had every intention of working on the introduction of the masters project yesterday. Instead Ri and I decided we were bored so we went up to Redcliffe instead and walked my brothers puppy and played my Mo's new Wii. I so want a Wii.

If I procrastinate for just another 2 hours, then I'll have to start getting ready for the twins 4th birthday party... but then our intro is 'due' this week and atm... its ok, not great....

I better stop procrastinating.

xoxo Vix

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

Thursday

Holly Golightly: Thursday! It can't be! It's too gruesome!
Paul Varjak: What's so gruesome about Thursday?
Holly Golightly: Nothing, except I can never remember when it's coming up.

Most normal people hate Monday's. I like Monday, and Tuesday (even tho most Tuesdays dont feel like a Tuesday to me. Every week I think, ar it cant be only Tuesday?! Surely it's Friday) Wednesdays are just Wednesdays, barely even register. but Thursday? Thursday is a mission. Struggle to get to uni... the day when you just want to throw in the towel and give up. No normal person can get thru a Thursday without chemical assistance (be it coffee, V, coke - either kind, speed).

So this Thursday Mo comes over, and the poor thing is just exhausted. Mo has to deal with alot, her sister (my aunty) died last december, I have RA, she's building a house and F-I-N-A-L-L-Y leaving dad this year (only to move back in with dad for 6m-12m next year when she lends the house she is building to Ri and I).... so understandably today she had a mean case of the reds. This is why I looked up quotes from Breakfast at Tiffany's in the first place.

Holly Golightly: You know those days when you get the mean reds?
Paul Varjak: The mean reds, you mean like the blues?
Holly Golightly: No. The blues are because you're getting fat and maybe it's been raining too long, you're just sad that's all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you're afraid and you don't know what you're afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?
Paul Varjak: Sure.
Holly Golightly: Well, when I get it the only thing that does any good is to jump in a cab and go to Tiffany's. Calms me down right away. The quietness and the proud look of it; nothing very bad could happen to you there. If I could find a real-life place that'd make me feel like Tiffany's, then - then I'd buy some furniture and give the cat a name!

I love that quote, it's so true. Also that and I've never really related the blues to a feeling of any real seriousness. It's just a bit of a cliche. But the reds?! argh how powerful is that image!?!

Anyway, back on point, it's such a Thursday thing to crack under all the pressure in your daughters kitchen. Poor thing. All I could do was give her a hug and go to class. Should have taken her to Tiffany's. Though that would have made me happy, not her. She's not big on jewelry.

FRIDAY tomorrow. First day of ANOTHER artic/language clinic... sweet.

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Tired

Oh I am so over my masters project and we havent even finished the introduction yet.
And we thought it would be so easy.
Right now, It's 1:20am, I got out of bed at midnight, after giving up on ever getting any sleep tonight. I'm just so overwhelmed at the moment, I dont actually feel like I'm getting anything done. at the same time... err we havent even really started the semester yet either. not by normal degree standards anyway.
With this research project that is about to get messy and stray from our nice neat little timeline.
Clinic starting on Friday (S is going to be so sick of me, we're in two groups and clinic together)
Clinic sounds like its artic and language on crack (thats my way of saying, they sound like they expect a lot)
I cannot help but be a little disappointed, I thought we would be doing swallowing and adult neurological communication disorders. but we're with kids. again. doing artic and language. again.
OK, I can feel bed calling me, and I'm ready to try this sleep thing again. cheers, Vix

Monday, March 3, 2008

Burn Out

Hi, so today we had a lecture on burning out in our first year of work post uni.
Symptoms include:
Sadness (no)
Anger (yes)
Frustration (YES)
Tension (YESS)
Anxiety (YES!!!)
Depression (no)
Forgetfulness (HELL YES)
suspiciousness (why would that be?)
Paranoia (not yet)

and it's only week two.
I haven't been sleeping well lately. (note to self: must buy a book on good grammar)
I'm so tired, anxious and excited. I cannot wait to start clinic, as that is what keeps me going every semester. I've got another hospital placement (I'm going to be paranoid about maintaining confidentiality) I love being placed outside of uni, I feel like I'm being assessed ALL THE TIME when I'm in the uni clinic.

Since this the entry two here is more about me:
I've had JRA (juvenil rheumatoid arthritis) since I was two years old. It's severe, in every joint except for the ones that I have had replaced (hips and knees). I have two wheelchairs (powerchair and manual w/c). I have never known life without it.

OK more from me later this week...

Sunday, March 2, 2008

My last year

I've been going to UQ for five years. I started at 18, and when I graduate I will be 24. There went my late teens/early twentys.

I'm doing my Masters in Speech Pathology.

I'll vent here. But right now? Nuts to it Grey's Anatomy is on....